Take Back the Grand Old Party

As many of you know, and many of you may be surprised by, I am a former member of the Republican Party. The GOP is the only party I called my own. I left the party in 2014 when its bigotry became too difficult to ignore. And in 2016, I am proud to support Secretary Clinton’s campaign as a volunteer and pledged voter. I have worked for no less than three high-level female Democrats in the past year alone. To my Republican friends, I implore you to consider the consequences of our current presidential debate — not simply what a Trump victory would look like. In many ways, Trump has already won. He has inspired violence and hatred beyond our borders alone. Whoever wins, in January 2017 – we will still live in a fractured American society divided by anger. The Deputy Permanent Representative of the Holy See, the Vatican’s mission to the United Nations, recently teased me saying he was planning on penning a speech announcing the Catholic Church’s support for Trump. Not recognizing his statement was in jest, I adamantly reminded him, as we were raised Catholic, that there is nothing Christian about Mr. Trump’s politics. One of the beautiful markers of the Christian faith, as opposed to the other world religions such as Buddhism, Judaism, Hinduism, Islam (with perhaps the exception of Sufism), is its overwhelming emphasis on the power of love. Trump has built a platform based on hate. There is nothing Christian about that. Republicans, take back your party, take back your faith, and vote with your conscience and character and speak in soft tongues. This is the only way to make America great again.

